Past Award Winners

Past Award Honorees

Utah Ski Archives Newsletter



The University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Library Ski & Snow Sports Archives S. J. Quinney Award is named in honor of the late Utah lawyer, businessman, state legislator, ski visionary and founder of Alta Ski Area, who is referred to as “the father of Utah’s ski industry.” The library presents the award to an individual or organization that has exhibited the same public-spirited attributes and contributions to winter sports as its namesake.


2022   Pat Miller     

2019    Alan K. Engen

2018    Howard Peterson        

2017    Ron Steele       

2016    Gary DeSeelhorst        

2015    Dick Bass         

2014    Bob Wheaton  

2013    Ted Johnson    

2012    John W. Gallivan

2010    Jim Gaddis       

2009    Russ Harmer   

2008    Karen Korfanta            

2006    Edgar Stern     

2005    Janet Quinney Lawson

2004    Suzy Rytting    

2003    Zane Doyle      

2002    Corey Engen    

2001    Stein Eriksen   

2000    Spence Eccles

1999    Junior Bounous           

1998    M. Earl Miller

1997    Wilby Durham

1996    Earl Miller       

1995    Charles ‘Chick’ Morton

1994    Alf Engen         

1994    Nick Badami    

1993    Joe Quinney    




The University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Library Ski & Snow Sports Archives History-Maker Award is presented to individuals or organizations from the Intermountain Region in recognition of their extraordinary accomplishments in winter sports.


2022  75 Years of University of Utah Ski Teams

2019    Wasatch Mountain Club

2018    Utah Avalanche Center/US Forest Service

2017    University of Utah Ski Team/NCAA Champions

2016    Utah Olympic Legacy Foundation

2015    Ski Utah

2014    Olympic & Paralympic Winter Games Medalists: Sochi Winter Games

2013    Ted Ligety and Sarah Hendrickson

2012    Dimitrije Milovich

2011    Women’s Ski Jumping

2010    Olympic & Paralympic Winter Games Medalists

2009    Meeche White and Peter Mandler

2008    University of Utah Ski Teams

2007    Ski Areas established after 1940

2006    World Cup, Olympic & Paralympic Winter Games Medalists 2005-06

2005    Ski Competitors 1950s-1960s

2004    Pioneering Women Skiers

2003    Second Generation Ski Instructors

2002    World Cup, Olympic & Paralympic Winter Games Medalists

2001    Pioneers of Freestyle pre-1980

2000    USDA Forest Service

1999    Janet Quinney Lawson

1998    World Cup, Olympic & Paralympic Winter Games Medalists 1997-98

1997    Deseret News Ski School

1996    Intermountain Area Ski Patrollers pre-1950

1995    U. S. Army 10th Mountain Division pre-1950

1994    Promoters: 2002 Olympic Winter Games

1993    Early Ski Areas

1992    Ski Competitors-pre-1952

1991    Pioneers of Ski Teaching


Prev Next